Our Luxury Small Group Journey: Detailed Itinerary

Traveling with Abercrombie & Kent, the world’s leading tour operator, offers distinct advantages. Each is limited to 18 guests, a certified Egyptologist and a dedicated driver.  Our 4-night Nile cruise aboard Sanctuary ‘Sun  Boat IV’ is one part of the experience.  We will also explore a closed-to-the-public tomb, enjoy a special guest speaker to provide insight into Egypt’s current state and vision for the future and more, all supported by A & K offices throughout Egypt, including Cairo, Luxor, Aswan and Abu Simbel.  We will also be travelling on a popular Abercrombie & Kent extension to Jordan as guests often do combining travel to Jordan with Egypt or Israel.  Today we have a account of our travel , something that has evolved over time.

sanctuary-sun-boat-IV-masthead

Not Just A River Cruise

Initially, travelers are attracted by the base Egypt And The Nile itinerary offered by Abercrombie & Kent. They make that booking and dream, perhaps sold on the idea of a Nile River Cruise.  They learn rather quickly that the river portion is just one part of the experience.  A&K also includes a number of pre- and post-cruise hotel stays as part of the package, one that is often extended into Jordan as we have.  This year, our 4-night Nile River cruise will happen aboard Sanctuary Resorts 40-cabin Sanctuary ‘Sun  Boat IV’. Egypt & the Nile departures in 2016 are scheduled on 18-cabin Sanctuary Sun Boat III.

EG015390

An A&K Advantage

Nile river water levels cause other cruise ships to stop in Luxor, eliminating the opportunity to sail north to Dendera and Abydos. Smaller sized Sun Boats allows them to reach those places throughout the year. Better yet, private docking facilities in Aswan and Luxor provide convenient and secure access, rather than docking next to other ships at a public dock.

EG015270

Day By Day Itinerary

Thursday October 1- Fly to Cairo
Via Emirates Airlines

Friday October 2- Arrive Cairo, Egypt
Check in at the Mena House Hotel

Saturday October 3- Giza
The Pyramids & the Sphinx

Photo- Abercrombie & Kent

Photo- Abercrombie & Kent

Sunday October 4- Cairo
Legendary Pharoahs

Monday October 5- Luxor
Karnak and the Valley of the Kings

Tuesday October 6- Cruising The Nile
Temple of Hathor at Denderah

EG015270

 

Wednesday October 7- Cruising The Nile
Edfu to Kom Ombo

Thursday October 8- Aswan
Majestic Philae

Friday October 9- Abu Simbel
Temples of Ramses II and Nefertari

 

Photo- Abercrombie & Kent

Photo- Abercrombie & Kent

Saturday October 10- Cairo
Bustling Souk

 

Photo- Abercrombie & Kent

Photo- Abercrombie & Kent

 

Sunday October 11- Depart Cairo
Arrive In Amman, Jordan

Monday October 12- Amman

Tuesday October 13- Petra

Wednesday October 14
Dead Sea

Thursday October 15 
Dead Sea
Depart Amman

Friday October 16
Back At The Ranch

Photos- Abercrombie & Kent